Welcome to the Loaches Online Forum Archives, full of historical information on loaches and other freshwater tropical aquarium fish from 1998 to 2005. You may want to use the Search Engine to find what you're looking for, or browse the other archives: (Archive 1) (Archive 2) (Archive 3) (Archive 4) (Archive 5) (Archive 6)

Don't forget to visit the new Loach Forum when you're finished!

View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

The Loach Forum Archives (1)

The Underneath--Or How I Learned to Love the Sewer

Posted By: Al <aru@inetworld.net>
Date: Tuesday, 27 April 1999, at 5:08 a.m.

[I'm sorry for the length of this message. I'm trying to explain a couple of concerns/behaviors as clearly as possible--and get some suggestions. I'm new at both, posting and keeping loaches, so please bear with me--and don't spam me if I broke any rule or posting ettiquete.:-) I would really appreciate your comments.

I have a tank with only (semi-agressive) loaches in it: a few Red-tail Botias (Botia Modesta), a couple of Yellow-tail Botias (Botia Lecontei) and about six botias of what I assume are different 'strains' of Skunk Loaches (Botia Morleti). The tank is set up without plants. Just driftwood and rocks providing plenty of hiding spaces for all the residents. I have both, an undergravel filter and an external mechanical filter--running together. There are occasional territorial squabbles: 'clicking', a short chase around the tank, and a rare stand-off; but for the most part, the loaches are all healthy and thriving: They've grown tremendously and the colors--especially on the Modestas--are deep and beautiful. That is, of course, when they are visible, since all these fish spend most of the day hidden. [Some people have asked me why I keep an 'empty' tank ... but that's another story. :-)]