Welcome to the Loaches Online Forum Archives, full of historical information on loaches and other freshwater tropical aquarium fish from 1998 to 2005. You may want to use the Search Engine to find what you're looking for, or browse the other archives: (Archive 1) (Archive 2) (Archive 3) (Archive 4) (Archive 5) (Archive 6)

Don't forget to visit the new Loach Forum when you're finished!

View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

The Loach Forum Archives (3)

Disapointed at Petstore.

Posted By: mr. bones
Date: Friday, 23 March 2001, at 1:41 p.m.

Today I got home from the local petstore, with what were allegedly 1 skunk loach, 2 tiger loaches, and 3 clowns. So, I whipped out the webcam and took pictures at my new fish, and sent them to my friend who knows about 10 times of what I do about loaches and fish. What does he say? "That's a skunk CORY, and 2 chinese algae eaters, the clowns are real though."

Amazing. I'll be the first to point out I'm no expert on loaches, but after doing a bit of research online, I can safely say the "Skunk cory" looks almost identical to a skunk loach. Skunks are a bit rounder and narrower, but I assumed from the markings and advertisements it might of been a younger one. As for the CAE's (chinese algae eaters), I can't wait till they get big and maul my $85 worth of fish to death like so many fish resource websites proclaim they do.

I can only assume the person who classifies their fish at the petstore thought that due to the CAE's spots and stripes it looked like a tiger, and facial appearance it looked like a loach. I saw a picture of a real tiger loach today. Doesn't even look like a CAE. I also would assume since Skunk Corys and Skunk loaches look alot alike he labeled them as that.