Welcome to the Loaches Online Forum Archives, full of historical information on loaches and other freshwater tropical aquarium fish from 1998 to 2005. You may want to use the Search Engine to find what you're looking for, or browse the other archives: (Archive 1) (Archive 2) (Archive 3) (Archive 4) (Archive 5) (Archive 6)

Don't forget to visit the new Loach Forum when you're finished!

View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

The Loach Forum Archives (4)

New Tank - Clowns

Posted By: Mr Leadfoot <leadfoot@sbcglobal.net>
Date: Tuesday, 9 April 2002, at 5:43 a.m.

I am a newbie. There... I'm out of the closet. :-) I need help, please. 2 weeks ago, I bought my first tank for my kids. Needless to say, I started with a 10 gallon starter kit. Now, no one in any of the fish stores told me I was supposed to "cycle" a tank (can you believe it?), so I got one 4" dojo, two 2" clowns and a goldfish. I was told that the clowns and dojo liked warmer water than the goldfish, and that if I averaged the water to about 72 - 75 degrees, I shouldn't have a problem. So, I started the tank using a dechlorinator/stress coat, then added the fish.

I noticed the water begin to cloud on the second day. I called the fish store, and was told it would clear up within the week. After 5 days the water was still cloudy, and I noticed the clowns scraping themselves on the gravel and cave I had put in the tank. At the time I thought they were just being clown loaches, you know what I mean? And, I started liking them alot, and thought the behavior was cute. I called the fish store about the cloudy water, and it was recommended I do a 25% water change. I did, and of course it helped a little, but by the 7th day, it still haddn't cleared up, so I went to a different store for help.