Welcome to the Loaches Online Forum Archives, full of historical information on loaches and other freshwater tropical aquarium fish from 1998 to 2005. You may want to use the Search Engine to find what you're looking for, or browse the other archives: (Archive 1) (Archive 2) (Archive 3) (Archive 4) (Archive 5) (Archive 6)

Don't forget to visit the new Loach Forum when you're finished!

View Thread | Return to Index | Read Prev Msg | Read Next Msg

The Loach Forum Archives (4)

ICH success story

Posted By: David M. <center@justice.com>
Date: Wednesday, 5 June 2002, at 10:49 a.m.

This is the first time I have posted here, but have been an avid reader since purchasing my first clown loaches about 2 months ago (note: I am also extremely new to the hobby - my first aquarium was purchased about 3 months ago).

I tell you this story for two reasons. First, if I did something right, perhaps it might help others. Second, if I did something wrong, I would really like to know so that I don't make the same mistake again. My success could have very well been a tragedy and I would like to know from more experienced people which is more likely.

Anyhow, I have 5 clowns (very small loaches, each about 1.5 inches in length) in a heavily planted 30 gal. and after having them for about 1.5 months, I noticed them scratching themselves quite frequently. Upon closer inspection, I noticed white spots on their fins and bodies and two of them were extremely pale, inactive, and had clamped fins. They were obviously quite sick, but I didn't know with what. So, I read everything I could here and elsewhere and concluded they had parasites.

I talked with my local fish store owner (who appears to know quite a bit about both plants and loaches). I was concerned about killing the plants with medication, and hurting the loaches with the wrong medication. He suggested the following:

1) remove them from the 30 gal. tank and put them in a 10 gal hospital tank.